Last Time Each NFL Team Started First Round QB

In 2020, 23 teams started a QB drafted in the first round.

Of those 23, 18 QBs were drafted by the team they started for.

Sam Darnold (Jets), Josh Allen (Bills), Tua Tagovailoa (Dolphins), Joe Burrow (Bengals), Baker Mayfield (Browns), Ben Roethlisberger (Steelers), Lamar Jackson (Ravens), Deshaun Watson (Texans), Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs), Justin Herbert (Chargers), Daniel Jones (Giants), Carson Wentz (Eagles), , Matthew Stafford (Lions), Aaron Rodgers (Packers), Mitchell Trubisky (Bears), Matt Ryan (Falcons), Jared Goff (Rams), Kyler Murray (Cardinals)

The other 5 first round QBs were Philip Rivers (Colts) and Ryan Tannehill (Titans), Alex Smith (WFT), Cam Newton (Patriots), Teddy Bridgewater (Panthers)

What about the other 9 teams? Who was the last first round QB to start for those teams and when were they drafted?

Broncos – Joe Flacco (2019)

Flacco was cut after the 2018 season by the Ravens and replaced by another first round pick (Lamar Jackson). Broncos will likely start a former first rounder in 2021 (Teddy Bridgewater)

Saints – Teddy Bridgewater (2019)

Jameis Winston will be the next first rounder to start a game for the Saints in 2021. Bridgewater led the Saints to a 4-0 record in 2019, while filling in for an injured Drew Brees.

Bucs – Jameis Winston (2019)

Winston was the #1 pick in 2015 was replaced by a former 6th round pick in 2021. He will likely start games for the Saints in 2021.

Jaguars – Blake Bortles (2018)

Bortles led Jaguars to AFC Championship Game in 2017, started 12 games in 2018 and has hardly been seen since. Clock resets for Jags in 2021 with 2021 #1 pick Trevor Lawrence starting for them.

Raiders – EJ Manuel (2017)

In 2017, an injury to Derek Carr forced Raiders to start Manuel, the only QB drafted in the first round in 2013. Before that 1 game cameo, the last time a first rounder starter for Raiders was Carson Palmer in 2012.

Vikings – Sam Bradford (2017)

Vikings acquired Bradford in 2016 for a first round pick. He started week 1 in 2017 and then missed the remainder of the season due to injury.

49ers – Blaine Gabbert (2016)

Gabbert split time with Colin Kapernick and started 5 games (49ers went 1-4). In 2017, Kyle Shanahan took over and 49ers moved on from both QBs.

Cowboys – Brandon Weeden (2015)

Romo battled injuries in 2015, his last real season in the NFL and started only 7 games. Weeden was one of four QBs who filled in, starting 3 games.

Seahawks – Trent Dilfer (2004)

Whoa. Seahawks have gone 17 years of Russell Wilson and Matt Hasselbeck as their starting QBs. Wilson has started every game since 2012. From 2001-2010, Hasselbeck was the primary starter.

Mike is an alum of the University of Cincinnati and the ultimate sports nerd.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.