Recent History of Notre Dame vs Florida State

Notre Dame is 9-0 and three wins away from making their first appearance in the College Football Playoffs. All that stands between them and perfection is Florida State, Syracuse, and USC. Florida State comes to South Bend on Saturday, with a 4-5 record.

All-time Series

Florida State leads the all-time series 6-2 and have won three straight games against the Irish (2014, 2011, 2003). Notre Dame’s last win was 2002 and their last win in South Bend was 1993.

Bowl History

Florida State is 2-0 vs Notre Dame in bowl games

  • 2011 FSU won 18-14 in Champs Sports Bowl
  • 1996 won 31-16 in Orange Bowl

Game Reflections

Last Meeting – 2014

  • Both teams entered Tallahasee 6-0 – #2 Seminoles beat #5 Irish 31-27
  • Florida State would go on to win the National Title that year
  • FSU QB Jameis Winston went 23-31, 273 yards, 2 TD, INT
  • ND QB Evertt Golson threw 52 passes, 3 TD, 2 INT
  • Will Fuller caught 8 passes for Notre Dame, including a TD
  • FSU RB Karlos Williams scored 2 TD and Dalvin Cook ran 12 times for 20 yards

Champs Sports Bowl – 2011

  • Florida State won 18-14 to end Brian Kelly’s second season with the Irish
  • FSU QB EJ Manuel threw for 249 yards and 2 TD
  • Devonta Freeman led all FSU RBs with just 48 yards
  • Michael Floyd caught a TD for Notre Dame and Tyler Eifert led all receivers wit 6 catches, 90 yards

Last Notre Dame win in 2002

  • Notre Dame last beat FSU in 2002, winning 34-24 to improve to 8-0 (they would finish that season 10-3)
  • The QBs of each team was Carlyle Holliday for Notre Dame and Chris Rix for FSU
  • Anquan Boldin (FSU) and Arnaz Battle (ND) were the top WRs

Active NFL Players Comparison



QB Jameis Wiston Deshone Kizer
RB Dalvin Cook, Chris Thompson, Devonta Freeman Theo Riddick, CJ Prosise
WR Kelvin Benjamin Golden Tate, Michael Floyd, Will Fuller
TE Nick O’Leary Kyle Rudolph, Tyler Eifert
OL Cameron Irving, Menelik Watson, Bobby Hart Zach Martin, Nick Martin, Mike McGlinchey, Quenton Nelson, Ronnie Stanley
DL  Eddie Goldman, DeMarcus Walker Sheldon Day, Stephen Tuitt
LB Nigel Bradham, Telvin Smith  Jaylon SMith, Manti Te’o
CB Ronald Darby, Jalen Ramsey , Xavier Rhodes, Patrick Robinson, PJ Williams NA
Safety Derwin James, Lamarcus Joyner Harrison Smith
K Dustin Hopkins, Graham Gano, Sebastion Janikowski NA


For more college football talk, you can follow me on twitter @msschneid or instagram @mikedropsports 

About Mike Schneid 452 Articles
Mike is a member of the FWAA (Football Writers Association of America) and an alum of the University of Cincinnati.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.