Simulation Bracket of Champions

WhatIfSports is a sports simulation site featuring online simulation games. Using statistical analysis, you can use their SimMatchup College Basketball feature to pair teams from different years, like the 1975-76 Hoosiers vs the 1995-96 Kentucky Wildcats, for example.

Or another example would be taking the last 16 teams to win the National Championship from 2003-2018 and pair them up in a simulated bracket of champions tournament, to see who is the best team.

Pairings have been set based on most recent vs most distant champions (for example last year’s champion vs the champion from longest ago, 2003).

Each matchup will be simulated 10 times from a neutral site (so there is no home floor advantage), with one random box score being presented.

You can perform your own simulations using NCAA Basketball SimMatchup.

At WhatIfSports, you can also run your own college basketball program.
Hoops Dynasty is a college basketball simulation game where you get to work your way to the top of the college basketball coaching world. To assemble your squad, you’ll need to scout for talent and recruit players with a limited budget and hundreds of other coaches competing with you.

2018 Villanova vs 2003 Syracuse

The most recent National champions vs Jim Boeheim’s only championship team, during a time where Carmelo Anthony was a next level superstar. Both teams beat Kansas to get there, Villanova did it in the Semis, before beating Michigan in the Championship, while Syracuse beat Kansas in the Finals.

Notable players:

  • Villanova – Jalen Brunson, Mikal Bridges, Omari Spellman, Donte DiVincenzo;
  • Syracuse – Carmelo Anthony, Hakim Warrick, Gerry McNamara

Simulation results – Villanova won 7 times out of 10

2017 North Carolina vs 2004 UConn

One year after losing the championship game to Villanova, UNC avenged their loss by winning the 2017 championship, beating Gonzaga in the Championship. They face UConn’s second ever National title team (2nd of 4). Huskies beat Georgia Tech, led by Jarrett Jack.

Notable players:

  • UNC – Joel Berry, Isaiah Hicks, Kennedy Meeks, Justin Jackson
  • UConn – Emeka Okafor, Ben Gordon, Charlie Villanueva

Simulation results – UConn won 7 times out of 10

Try simulating two historical college basketball teams yourself using WhatIfSports Sim Matchup!

2016 Villanova vs 2005 UNC

Villanova won the 2016 title by beating North Carolina, so it’s ironic that it’s up to the 2005 version of Tar Heels to get payback. In 2005, UNC beat Deron Williams’ Illinois team in the Championship.

Notable players:

  • Villanova – Ryan Arcidiacono, Josh Hart, Kris Jenkins
  • UNC – Raymond Felton, Sean May, Rashad McCants, Marvin Williams

Simulation results – UNC beats Villanova 10-0

2015 Duke vs 2006 Florida

Duke beat Wisconsin team in the Championship, after the Badgers knocked off undefeated Kentucky. Florida won the school’s first National Championship in 2006, under now-OKC Thunder head coach Billy Donovan, beating UCLA.

Notable players:

  • Duke – Jahlil Okafor, Justice Winslow, Tyus Jones
  • Florida – Joakim Noah, Al Horford, Corey Brewer

Simulation results – Florida won 6 times out of 10

2014 UConn vs 2007 Florida

Florida ran it back with their 2006 team and won back-to-back NCAA titles, beating Ohio State in the Finals, after knocking off UCLA in the Final Four. UConn won the school’s 4th championship and did it as a 7 seed. They beat Florida in the Final Four and knocked off an 8th seeded Kentucky in Finals.

Notable players:

  • UConn – Shabazz Napier, Ryan Boatright
  • Florida – Joakim Noah, Al Horford, Corey Brewer

Simulation results – Florida won 9 out of 10 simulations

2013 Louisville vs 2008 Kansas

Follow me on twitter @msschneid or instagram @mikedropsports

About Mike Schneid 468 Articles
Mike is a member of the FWAA (Football Writers Association of America) and an alum of the University of Cincinnati.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.